الشركاء

الشركاء;

يعمل برنامج التعاون مع الجهات العربية المانحة (CAD)- الصندوق الاقليمي المفتوح مع المنظمات التالية:

برنامج الخليج العربي للتنمية- أجفند (AGFUND)

AGFUND Logo REV3

 

الرياض، المملكة العربية السعودية

برنامج الخليج العربي للتنمية (أجفند) هو منظمة إقليميه تنموية مانحة، تدير أعمالها من مدينة الرياض بالمملكة العربية السعودية التي تتخذها الإدارة التنفيذية مقراً لها. أنشئ أجفند عام 1980م بمبادرة من صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير طلال بن عبدالعزيز وبدعم وتأييد من قادة دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي (دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، مملكة البحرين، المملكة العربية السعودية، سلطنة عمان، دولة قطر، ودولة الكويت). تشمل الأهداف الرئيسية للبرنامج، بدون التمييز على أساس الجنس، العقيدة أو الانتماء السياسي، دعم الجهود الرامية إلى التنمية البشرية مثل مكافحة الفقر، والنهوض بالتعليم، وتحسين مستويات الصحة، وتعليم الأطفال المبكر، وتمكين المرأة، والتطوير المؤسسي، وتنفيذ المشاريع التي تستهدف الفئات الضعيفة في الدول النامية، خصوصاً النساء والأطفال.

يعمل أجفند في مجال التنمية على المستوى الدولي من خلال شراكة فاعلة مع المنظمات الأممية والإنمائية الدولية والإقليمية والوطنية، والهيئات الحكومية، والقطاع الخاص، والمجتمع المدني. أسهم أجفند منذ إنشائه في دعم وتمويل 1467 مشروعاً في 133 دولة نامية، وأسس عدة بنوك للقروض الصغيرة، وجامعات، ومنظمات غير حكومية إقليمية، والتي ينسق البرنامج معها بصورة وثيقة لتنفيذ المشاريع. أهم المنظمات التي تم تأسيسها من خلال أجفند هي مركز المرأة العربية للتدريب والبحوث (CAWTAR)، والشبكة العربية للمنظمات غير الحكومية (شبكة)، والجامعة العربية المفتوحة، وعدد من “بنوك الفقراء”.

www.agfund.org

صلتك

silatech

الدوحة، قطر

تأسست صلتك، مؤسسة اجتماعية مبتكرة تدعم خلق الوظائف للشباب من 18-30 سنة، في عام 2008 من خلال منحة مقدارها 100 مليون دولار قدمتها صاحبة السمو الشيخة موزا بنت ناصر المسند، زوجة أمير قطر آنذاك، ووالدة الأمير الجديد، الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني. تشجع “صلتك” النشاطات الرامية إلى توفير فرص عمل واسعة النطاق، وتعزيز ريادة الأعمال، وإتاحة المجال أمام الشباب للوصول إلى رؤوس الأموال والأسواق، بدءاً بالدول العربية حيث أعلى معدل للبطالة.

تهدف مشاريع صلتك إلى تعزيز التعاون بين الحكومات، والقطاع الخاص، والقطاع الأكاديمي والمجتمع المدني. يتم تشكيل الشراكات مع الحكومات في الدول المستفيدة للتشجيع على إصلاح السياسات وإحداث التغيير المستدام في التعليم المهني، وتنمية المشاريع وإشراك الشباب في المجتمع المدني. تعمل صلتك على مبادرات من شأنها تطوير مناهج التدريب المهني في قطاع الضيافة وقطاع البناء والتشييد في اليمن، والمغرب، وتونس، بحيث تدعم خدمات الشباب التي تقدمها مؤسسات التمويل الأصغر، وتطور التكنولوجيا على شبكة الانترنت والهواتف المحمولة التي تقدم المعلومات حول الوظائف الشاغرة وبرامج التوظيف في المنطقة (إرشاد مهني ومشورة بالتعاون مع شركة ميكروسوفت مصر)، بالإضافة إلى تقديم التوصيات حول إصلاح السياسات والتدريب للمنظمات غير الحكومية والمؤسسات الاجتماعية في مجال الرصد والتقييم. في قطر، قامت صلتك و بنك قطر للتنمية بتأسيس ودعم مركز “بداية” للشباب، والذي يوفر الإرشاد المهني والتعليم الريادي.

www.silatech.com

 

البنك الإسلامي للتنمية (IsDB)

IsDB

جدة، المملكة العربية السعودية

البنك الإسلامي للتنمية هو مؤسسة مالية دولية تدعم التنمية الاقتصادية والتقدم الاجتماعي في الدول الأعضاء والمجتمعات الإسلامية، وذلك بصورة فردية أو جماعية، ووفق مبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية. تضم مجموعة البنك الإسلامي للتنمية حالياً 56 دولة عضو من أربع قارات، وهذه الدول أعضاء أيضاً في منظمة التعاون الإسلامي ويساهمون في رأس مال البنك. أما كبار مساهمي البنك فهم المملكة العربية السعودية (24%)، وليبيا (9%)، وإيران (8%)، ونيجيريا (8%)، وقطر (7%).

يقع المقر الرئيسي للبنك الذي تأسس في عام 1975 في مدينة جدة في المملكة العربية السعودية، وله أربعة مكاتب في الرباط (المغرب)، وكولالمبور (ماليزيا)، وألماتي (كازاخستان)، وداكار (السنغال). وسيتم افتتاح مكاتب جديدة في تركيا، ومصر، واندونيسيا، وبنغلادش، ونيجيريا وذلك لزيادة التواجد الميداني للبنك والمساهمة في رفع كفاءته.

يتألف البنك الإسلامي للتنمية من خمسة كيانات:

  1. البنك الإسلامي للتنمية (IsDB)
  2. المعهد الإسلامي للبحوث والتدريب (IRTI)
  3. المؤسسة الإسلامية لتنمية القطاع الخاص (ICD)
  4. المؤسسة الإسلامية لتأمين الاستثمار وائتمان الصادرات (ICIEC)
  5. المؤسسة الإسلامية لتمويل التجارة (ITFC)

 

يدير البنك الإسلامي للتنمية صناديق ائتمانية وبرامج متخصصة، مثل صندوق الوقف، وصندوق التضامن الإسلامي للتنمية، وبرامج متخصصة للمنح الدراسية وأخرى للمساعدة الإنسانية. هذا وأُطلق صندوق القبس في عام 2000 بهدف إيجاد آليات عملية لدعم عامة الناس.

صادق البنك على أكثر من 7000 مشروع، قيمتها حوالي €84 مليار منذ بداية تأسيسه. وقد تم إنفاق حوالي €45 مليار على تمويل المشاريع و€381 مليون كمنح للمساعدة الفنية. أما بالنسبة للتوزيع القطاعي، فقد استحوذ قطاع الطاقة على أكبر حصة (حوالي 39%)، يليه قطاع التمويل (18%)، وبلغت حصة قطاع الصناعة والتعدين 11.5% وقطاع الزراعة وأمن الغذاء 10%، والنقل 9%، والمياه والصرف الصحي والتطوير الحضري 5%، والصحة والتعليم 2%.

يدعم البنك الإسلامي للتنمية تبادل المعرفة بين دوله الأعضاء من خلال برنامج التعاون الفني، فيقوم بتمويل الندوات وورشات العمل والتبادل قصير المدى لكبار موظفي المنظمات.

يسعى قسم تنمية القدرات الذي تم أنشاؤه مؤخراً إلى تعزيز إجراءات تطوير القدرات على المدى البعيد في عمليات البنك ويدير منحة لدعم المنظمات غير الحكومية والشركاء.

في ظل البيئة الاقتصادية العالمية الصعبة والتغيرات السياسية التي تشهدها الدول العربية، وحاجة الدول الأعضاء الملحة إلى خلق الوظائف، انخرط البنك الإسلامي للتنمية في عدد من مبادرات التوظيف:

  • شراكة دوفيل لمجموعة الثمانية (G8 Deauville Partnership) قدم فيها البنك التزاماً مالياً مقداره €3.5 مليون لدعم نمو التوظيف في مصر، تونس، الأردن، والمغرب.
  • برنامج بوابة تشغيل الشباب (Youth Employment Support- YES) والذي تبلغ قيمته €200 مليون ويهدف إلى مساعدة الحكومات، والصناديق الاجتماعية، والمؤسسات المالية في خلق فرص عمل من خلال القروض الصغرى في كل من تونس، ومصر، واليمن، وليبيا.
  • برنامج محو الأمية المهني للحد من الفقر وخلق 81,000 وظيفة، وتبلغ قيمته €42 مليون.

يتم تنفيذ المبادرات بالشراكة مع عدد من منظمات الأمم المتحدة، والبنك الدولي، وبنوك تنمية اقليمية، ومنظمة الأغذية والزراعة (FAO)، والصندوق الدولي للتنمية الزراعية (IFAD)، ومنظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO)، ومنظمة البلدان المصدرة للبترول (OPEC)، والبنوك الإسلامية، وحكومات الدول الأعضاء، ومنظمات المجتمع المدني.

www.isdb.org

صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية (OFID)

OFID

فيينا، النمسا

أُنشأ صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية في عام 1976 عقب مؤتمر للأوبك في الجزائر في عام 1975. والدول الأعضاء في الصندوق هي دول الأوبك ذاتها (ماعدا الإكوادور وأنغولا) وتشمل الجزائر، والغابون، وإندونيسيا، وإيران، والعراق، والكويت، وليبيا، ونيجيريا، وقطر، والمملكة العربية السعودية، والإمارات العربية المتحدة، وفنزويلا. يتخذ الصندوق مدينة فيينا عاصمة النمسا مقراً له، شأنه شأن الأوبك، ويضم حوالي 160 موظف وليس لديه أي مكاتب ميدانية.

أما الهدف الرئيسي للصندوق فهو التعاون الإنمائي بين بلدان الجنوب، بهدف تقديم المساعدة للدول الأكثر فقراً في العالم والذي من الاساس قائم على الشراكة . تستثني اتفاقية التأسيس أعضاء صندوق الأوبك من الحصول على المعونات.

لدى كل من الأوبك والصندوق سكرتاريا منفصلة بمهام مختلفة. يهتم الصندوق بصورة رئيسية بتعزيز التعاون المالي بين الدول الأعضاء والدول النامية، بينما تعمل سكرتاريا الأوبك على التنسيق فيما يتعلق بسياسات البترول للدول الأعضاء. يتألف المجلس الوزاري لصندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية من وزراء المالية للدول الأعضاء، بينما يتألف مؤتمر الأوبك، وهو السلطة العليا لصندوق الأوبك، من وزراء الطاقة.

أما مجالات العمل التي يمنحها صندوق الأوبك الأولوية فتشمل الطاقة، والزراعة، والنقل، والتمويل (التجارة، وأسواق المال، وتمويل المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة)، بالإضافة إلى التنمية المجتمعية متعددة القطاعات، والمياه، والصرف الصحي، والصحة والتعليم.

مع نهاية عام 2013، أُنفق حوالي 76% من إجمالي دعم الصندوق التراكمي على القطاع العام وذلك على شكل مبادرات تمويل أسهمت في حل المشاكل المترابطة لقطاعات الطعام-والماء-والطاقة. كما وجه الصندوق حوالي 2 مليار دولار من قروض القطاع العام إلى دعم إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي، والزراعة، والتنمية الريفية.

وفي يونيو 2012، أصدر المجلس الوزاري لصندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية “الإعلان الوزاري حول فقر الطاقة” الذي أفاد أن الصندوق سيقدم مليار دولار لدعم “مبادرة الطاقة من أجل الفقراء (EPI) “. يهدف صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية إلى محاربة فقر الطاقة- وأطلق على ذلك “الهدف الناقص في الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية”- وذلك من خلال المساهمة في تحقيق الهدف العالمي في الحصول على الطاقة مع نهاية عام 2030. وضمن هذا السياق، يركز الصندوق على إيصال حلول طاقة مبتكرة على نطاق صغير، تخدم بصورة رئيسية المجتمعات الريفية خارج شبكة الطاقة، وتسهل الوصول إلى طاقة فعالة صديقة للبيئة في الجنوب، من خلال إنشاء شركات مرافق عامة جديدة وتحسين الموجود منها، ومن خلال مساعدة الدول على استغلال مصادر الطاقة المتجددة لدى كل منها. في سبيل ذلك، يوفر الصندوق الدعم اللازم لمشاريع القطاع الخاص التي تعمل على الحد من فقر الطاقة من خلال عمل منشأة منفصلة لهذه الغاية. تشمل الأنشطة بناء منشآت جديدة وإعادة تأهيل وتطوير المنشآت القديمة الغير فعّالة في كل من الأردن، وكينيا، وجمايكا، والباكستان.

أما على المستوى العالمي، يمتلك صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية حصة في صندوق “الوصول إلى الطاقة” قيمتها €6.5 مليون. سيستثمر الصندوق في مؤسسات صغيرة تعمل في أنظمة توليد الطاقة (مثل أنظمة التسخين الشمسي المنزلية)، والبنية التحتية للتوليد الصغير (الطاقة الشمسية، والمائية، وطاقة الرياح، والكتلة الحيوية)، كذلك في “أكشاك الطاقة” (نقطة توليد كهرباء باستهلاك مركزي لخدمة قطاع الأعمال)، وأسطول من البطاريات، أو أية أنشطة مرتبطة بتحسين إمكانية حصول سكان المناطق الريفية وشبه الحضرية في أفريقيا والدول النامية في آسيا على الكهرباء.

هذا ويقدم صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية المساعدة لقطاع التعليم، بما فيها التمويل الذي يهدف إلى إنشاء وتحديث وتوسعة المدارس والكليات والجامعات، وتوفير التدريب الفني والمهني، وتعزيز أنظمة التعليم الوطنية. يستكمل هذا الدعم من خلال برامج المنح التي يقدمها الصندوق للمخططات القاعدية الصغيرة ولنقل المعرفة من خلال رعاية المؤتمرات وورش العمل وغيرها من الأنشطة المتعددة. كما يدير الصندوق برنامج منح دراسية لخريجي الدول النامية.

منذ تأسيسه ولغاية نوفمبر 2014، خصص صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية ما يقارب €14 مليار، تم إنفاق €9.3 مليار منها، مفيداً بذلك 132 دولة حول العالم.

يتم تقديم الجزء الأكبر من التمويل الذي يقدمه صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية على شكل قروض تطلبها الدول النامية مباشرة. حوالي 5% فقط (ما يقارب €410 مليون) من ميزانية الصندوق تقدم على شكل منح. خصصت المنح لتقديم الدعم الفني (حوالي €130 مليون)، ومنحة خاصة لفلسطين (حوالي €90 مليون)، وبرنامج لمكافحة الإيدز (HIV) وصلت قيمته لحوالي €69 مليون، والمساعدة الإنسانية، والدعم والبحوث. بما أن صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية ليس لديه موظفين ميدانيين، يتم توزيع المساعدات من خلال المنظمات الدولية والمحلية والتي تملك القدرة على التنفيذ بكفاءة وضمن الأطر الزمنية اللازمة.

تصل قيمة المنح السنوية من €20 إلى €25. وتتراوح فيمتها حسب المشروع والمنظمة بين €80,000 إلى €1.6 مليون. لا يحبذ الصندوق الإنفاق على الموظفين، ويظهر مرونة في احتساب المناصب الإدارية لخفض النفقات العامة.

www.ofid.org and www.ofid.org/projectsoperations/grants.aspx

Tuesday , 25 September 2018
enar

Partners

The Cooperation with Arab Donors in MENA (CAD) programme (Open Regional Fund) collaborates with the following organizations:

Arab Gulf Programme for Development (AGFUND)

AGFUND Logo REV3

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

The Arab Gulf Programme for Development (AGFUND) is a regional organisation based in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. AGFUND was established in 1980 upon the initiative of His Royal Highness, Prince Talal Bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud with the support of leaders of the Gulf Cooperation Council countries: the United Arab Emirates, the Kingdom of Bahrain, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the State of Qatar, the Sultanate of Oman and the State of Kuwait. AGFUND’s key objective, without discrimination of sex, creed or political affiliation, is to support human development efforts such as combating poverty, the advancement of education, the improvement of health standards, early childhood education, the empowerment of women, institutional development, and the implementation of projects that target disadvantaged groups in developing countries, particularly women and children.

AGFUND works in partnership with the United Nations, regional and national development organisations, public institutions, the private sector and civil society organisations. AGFUND has supported and financed around 1,467 projects in 133 developing countries and has established several microcredit banks, universities and regional NGOs with which it closely coordinates project implementation. The most important organisations that were established through AGFUND are the Center for Arab Women Training and Research (CAWTAR), the Arab Network of NGOs (’Shabaka’), the Arab Open University and a number of ‘banks for the poor’.

www.agfund.org

 

Silatech

silatech

Doha, Qatar

Silatech is an innovative social enterprise that supports job creation and employability for young people (aged 18-30). Silatech was established in 2008 through a $100 million endowment by Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser Al Misned, the wife of the then Emir of Qatar, and mother of the new Emir, Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani. Silatech promotes large-scale job creation, entrepreneurship and access to capital and markets for young people, starting first in the Arab world, where the highest rate of youth unemployment currently exists.

Silatech’s projects aim to foster close cooperation between governments, the private sector, academia and civil society. Partnerships with the governments of recipient countries are forged to promote policy reforms and sustainable change in vocational education, enterprise development and the engagement of youth in civil society. Silatech works on initiatives that are developing curricula for vocational training in the hospitality and construction sectors in Yemen, Morocco and Tunisia; providing support to youth-inclusive services for microfinance institutions; developing web- and mobile phone-based technology to provide information on available jobs and employability programmes in the region; web-based career guidance and counselling in cooperation with Microsoft Egypt; policy reform recommendations and training for NGOs and social enterprises in M&E. In Qatar, Silatech and the Qatar Development Bank set up and support the Bedaya Centre for youth, which provides career guidance and entrepreneurship education.

www.silatech.com

Islamic Development Bank (IsDB)

IsDB

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

The Islamic Development Bank is an international financial institution that fosters economic development and social progress of member countries and Muslim communities, individually and jointly, in accordance with the principles of Shari’ah i.e. Islamic Law. The IsDB Group currently has 56 member states from four continents that are also members of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation and pay contributions to the capital of the Bank. The major shareholders are Saudi Arabia (24%), Libya (9 %), Iran (8%), Nigeria (8%), and Qatar (7%).

Established in 1975, the Bank’s headquarters are located in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, with four regional offices in Rabat, Morocco; Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Almaty, Kazakhstan; and Dakar, Senegal. Gateway offices are to be established in Turkey, Egypt, Indonesia, Bangladesh and Nigeria to increase field presence and efficiency.

The Islamic Development Bank Group consists of five entities:

1. The Islamic Development Bank (IsDB)

2. The Islamic Research and Training Institute (IRTI)

3. The Islamic Corporation for Development of the Private Sector (ICD)

4. The Islamic Corporation for Insurance of Investment and Export (ICIEC)

5. The Islamic Trade Finance Corporation (ITFC)

IsDB also runs specialized trust funds and programmes, such as the Waqf Fund and the Islamic Solidarity Fund for Development, scholarship programmes and special programmes for humanitarian assistance. The Al Aqsa Fund was launched in 2000 to establish practical mechanisms for supporting the general population.

The IsDB Group has approved more than 7,000 projects, valued at approximately €84 billion, since its inception. Around €45 billion was spent on project financing, and another €381 million on technical assistance grants. With regard to distribution by sector, the energy sector accounts for the largest share with approximately 39%, followed by finance with 18%. Industry and mining accounts for 11.5%; agriculture and food security for 10%; transport for almost 9%; water, sanitation and urban development for 5%; and health and education for 2%.

Through its Technical Cooperation Programme, IsDB supports knowledge exchange amongst IsDB member countries by funding seminars, workshops and short-term exchanges between senior officials of organisations.

The newly established Capacity Development Division seeks to strengthen long-term capacity development measures within the Bank’s operations and manages a grant fund to support NGOs and partners.

In the current challenging global economic environment and the political changes ongoing in Arab countries, along with the urgent need of member countries to create jobs, the IsDB Group has engaged in several employment-focused initiatives:

  • The G8 Deauville Partnership with a commitment of €3.5 million to support employment growth in Egypt, Tunisia, Jordan, and Morocco.
  • The €200 million Youth Employment Support (YES) Programme to assist governments, social funds, and financial institutions to generate employment through micro-loans in Tunisia, Egypt, Yemen and Libya.
  • The €42 million Vocational Literacy Programme for poverty reduction to create 81,000 jobs.

Implementation partners are multiple UN organisations, the World Bank and regional development banks, FAO, IFAD, WHO, OPEC Fund and Islamic banks, governments of member countries and civil society organisations.

www.isdb.org

The OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID)

OFID

Vienna, Austria

As a result of an OPEC conference in Algiers in 1975, the OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID) was established in 1976. Member countries are all OPEC members except for Ecuador and Angola, i.e. Algeria, Gabon, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela. Like OPEC itself, OFID is based in Vienna, Austria where it employs approximately 160 people. OFID has no field offices.

OFID’s main objective is South-South development cooperation to provide assistance to the poorest countries in the world, based on ground-level partnerships. The founding agreement excludes members of OFID from receiving OFID aid.

OFID and the OPEC Secretariat are two institutions with different functions. OFID’s main concern is the reinforcement of financial cooperation between its member countries and developing countries, whereas the OPEC Secretariat’s principal aim is to coordinate the petroleum policies of its members. While OFID’s Ministerial Council comprises the ministers of finance of its member countries, OPEC’s supreme authority, the Conference, consists of the ministers of energy.

OFID’s priority areas are energy, agriculture, transportation, finance (trade, capital markets, MSME funding), multi-sectoral community-based development, water, sanitation, health, and education.

As of the end of 2013, approximately 76% of OFID’s cumulative public sector support has gone to finance initiatives to resolve the food-water-energy nexus. OFID channelled about $2 billion of its public sector lending in support of water supply and sanitation, agriculture, and rural development.

In June 2012, the Ministerial Council of OFID announced the ‘Ministerial Declaration on Energy Poverty’, stating that OFID would make $1 billion available to bolster its Energy for the Poor Initiative (EPI). OFID thereby aims to confront energy poverty – which it calls the missing “Ninth MDG” – by helping to meet the global goal of universal energy access by 2030. Within this context, OFID focuses on the delivery of innovative, small-scale energy solutions, primarily to off-grid, rural communities, facilitates access to reliable and environmentally-sound power in the South by establishing new, and improving existing utility companies, and by helping countries to tap into their renewable energy sources. For this purpose, OFID also provides direct support to private sector energy poverty reduction projects under its separate Private Sector Facility. Activities include the construction of new facilities and the rehabilitation and upgrade of older inefficient facilities in Jordan, Kenya, Jamaica, and Pakistan.

At the global level, OFID has a €6.5 million equity participation in the Energy Access Fund. The Fund will invest in small enterprises involved in power generation systems (e.g. solar home systems), micro-generation infrastructure (hydro, solar, wind, biomass), “energy kiosks” (electricity generation point with centralised energy consumption by businesses), fleet of batteries, or any other activity linked to expanding access to electricity for rural and sub-urban populations in Africa and developing countries in Asia.

OFID also provides assistance to the education sector, including funding towards the construction, modernisation and expansion of schools, colleges and universities; the provision of technical and vocational training; and strengthening of national education systems. This support is supplemented through OFID’s grant programmes, which assist small-scale, grassroots schemes and knowledge transfer through the sponsorship of conferences and workshops, among many other activities. OFID also runs a scholarship programme for graduate students from developing countries.

Since inception and until November 2014, OFID committed approximately €14 billion; of which €9.3 billion have been disbursed. 132 countries worldwide have benefited from OFID’s financial assistance.

The majority of OFID’s funds are given in the form of loans, directly demanded by developing countries. Only about 5% (approximately €410 million) of OFID’s budget is given in form of grants. Grants were committed for technical assistance (approximately €130 million), a special grant account for Palestine (approximately €90 million), a special programme on HIV/AIDS (approximately €69 million), humanitarian aid, and support for research. Given that OFID has no field staff, it often disburses aid through international and local organisations which are capable of timely and effective implementation on the ground.

Grants amount to roughly €20 to €25 million per year. Per organisation and project, grants vary between €80,000 and €1.6 million. OFID prefers not to fund personnel, but claims to be flexible regarding the calculation of positions to limit overhead costs.

www.ofid.org and www.ofid.org/projectsoperations/grants.aspx