صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية (OFID)

فيينا، النمسا

أُنشأ صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية في عام 1976 عقب مؤتمر للأوبك في الجزائر في عام 1975. والدول الأعضاء في الصندوق هي دول الأوبك ذاتها (ماعدا الإكوادور وأنغولا) وتشمل الجزائر، والغابون، وإندونيسيا، وإيران، والعراق، والكويت، وليبيا، ونيجيريا، وقطر، والمملكة العربية السعودية، والإمارات العربية المتحدة، وفنزويلا. يتخذ الصندوق مدينة فيينا عاصمة النمسا مقراً له، شأنه شأن الأوبك، ويضم حوالي 160 موظف وليس لديه أي مكاتب ميدانية.

أما الهدف الرئيسي للصندوق فهو التعاون الإنمائي بين بلدان الجنوب، بهدف تقديم المساعدة للدول الأكثر فقراً في العالم من خلال ground level partnerships . تستثني اتفاقية التأسيس أعضاء صندوق الأوبك من الحصول على المعونات.

لدى كل من الأوبك والصندوق سكرتاريا منفصلة بمهام مختلفة. يهتم الصندوق بصورة رئيسية بتعزيز التعاون المالي بين الدول الأعضاء والدول النامية، بينما تعمل سكرتاريا الأوبك على التنسيق فيما يتعلق بسياسات البترول للدول الأعضاء. يتألف المجلس الوزاري لصندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية من وزراء المالية للدول الأعضاء، بينما يتألف مؤتمر الأوبك، وهو السلطة العليا لصندوق الأوبك، من وزراء الطاقة.

أما مجالات العمل التي يمنحها صندوق الأوبك الأولوية فتشمل الطاقة، والزراعة، والنقل، والتمويل (التجارة، وأسواق المال، وتمويل المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة)، بالإضافة إلى التنمية المجتمعية متعددة القطاعات، والمياه، والصرف الصحي، والصحة والتعليم.

مع نهاية عام 2013، أُنفق حوالي 76% من إجمالي دعم الصندوق التراكمي على القطاع العام وذلك على شكل مبادرات تمويل أسهمت في حل المشاكل المترابطة لقطاعات الطعام-والماء-والطاقة. كما وجه الصندوق حوالي 2 مليار دولار من قروض القطاع العام إلى دعم إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي، والزراعة، والتنمية الريفية.

وفي يونيو 2012، أصدر المجلس الوزاري لصندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية “الإعلان الوزاري حول فقر الطاقة” الذي أفاد أن الصندوق سيقدم مليار دولار لدعم “مبادرة الطاقة من أجل الفقراء (EPI) “. يهدف صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية إلى محاربة فقر الطاقة- وأطلق على ذلك “الهدف الناقص في الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية”- وذلك من خلال المساهمة في تحقيق الهدف العالمي في الحصول على الطاقة مع نهاية عام 2030. وضمن هذا السياق، يركز الصندوق على إيصال حلول طاقة مبتكرة على نطاق صغير، تخدم بصورة رئيسية المجتمعات الريفية خارج شبكة الطاقة، وتسهل الوصول إلى طاقة فعالة صديقة للبيئة في الجنوب، من خلال إنشاء شركات مرافق عامة جديدة وتحسين الموجود منها، ومن خلال مساعدة الدول على استغلال مصادر الطاقة المتجددة لدى كل منها. في سبيل ذلك، يوفر الصندوق الدعم اللازم لمشاريع القطاع الخاص التي تعمل على الحد من فقر الطاقة من خلال عمل منشأة منفصلة لهذه الغاية. تشمل الأنشطة بناء منشآت جديدة وإعادة تأهيل وتطوير المنشآت القديمة الغير فعّالة في كل من الأردن، وكينيا، وجمايكا، والباكستان.

أما على المستوى العالمي، يمتلك صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية حصة في صندوق “الوصول إلى الطاقة” قيمتها €6.5 مليون. سيستثمر الصندوق في مؤسسات صغيرة تعمل في أنظمة توليد الطاقة (مثل أنظمة التسخين الشمسي المنزلية)، والبنية التحتية للتوليد الصغير (الطاقة الشمسية، والمائية، وطاقة الرياح، والكتلة الحيوية)، كذلك في “أكشاك الطاقة” (نقطة توليد كهرباء باستهلاك مركزي لخدمة قطاع الأعمال)، وأسطول من البطاريات، أو أية أنشطة مرتبطة بتحسين إمكانية حصول سكان المناطق الريفية وشبه الحضرية في أفريقيا والدول النامية في آسيا على الكهرباء.

هذا ويقدم صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية المساعدة لقطاع التعليم، بما فيها التمويل الذي يهدف إلى إنشاء وتحديث وتوسعة المدارس والكليات والجامعات، وتوفير التدريب الفني والمهني، وتعزيز أنظمة التعليم الوطنية. يستكمل هذا الدعم من خلال برامج المنح التي يقدمها الصندوق للمخططات القاعدية الصغيرة ولنقل المعرفة من خلال رعاية المؤتمرات وورش العمل وغيرها من الأنشطة المتعددة. كما يدير الصندوق برنامج منح دراسية لخريجي الدول النامية.

منذ تأسيسه ولغاية نوفمبر 2014، خصص صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية ما يقارب €14 مليار، تم إنفاق €9.3 مليار منها، مفيداً بذلك 132 دولة حول العالم.

يتم تقديم الجزء الأكبر من التمويل الذي يقدمه صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية على شكل قروض تطلبها الدول النامية مباشرة. حوالي 5% فقط (ما يقارب €410 مليون) من ميزانية الصندوق تقدم على شكل منح. خصصت المنح لتقديم الدعم الفني (حوالي €130 مليون)، ومنحة خاصة لفلسطين (حوالي €90 مليون)، وبرنامج لمكافحة الإيدز (HIV) وصلت قيمته لحوالي €69 مليون، والمساعدة الإنسانية، والدعم والبحوث. بما أن صندوق الأوبك للتنمية الدولية ليس لديه موظفين ميدانيين، يتم توزيع المساعدات من خلال المنظمات الدولية والمحلية والتي تملك القدرة على التنفيذ بكفاءة وضمن الأطر الزمنية اللازمة.

تصل قيمة المنح السنوية من €20 إلى €25. وتتراوح فيمتها حسب المشروع والمنظمة بين €80,000 إلى €1.6 مليون. لا يحبذ الصندوق الإنفاق على الموظفين، ويظهر مرونة في احتساب المناصب الإدارية لخفض النفقات العامة.

www.ofid.org and www.ofid.org/projectsoperations/grants.aspx

Thursday , 13 December 2018
enar

The OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID)

Vienna, Austria

As a result of an OPEC conference in Algiers in 1975, the OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID) was established in 1976. Member countries are all OPEC members except for Ecuador and Angola, i.e. Algeria, Gabon, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela. Like OPEC itself, OFID is based in Vienna, Austria where it employs approximately 160 people. OFID has no field offices.

OFID’s main objective is South-South development cooperation to provide assistance to the poorest countries in the world, based on ground-level partnerships. The founding agreement excludes members of OFID from receiving OFID aid.

OFID and the OPEC Secretariat are two institutions with different functions. OFID’s main concern is the reinforcement of financial cooperation between its member countries and developing countries, whereas the OPEC Secretariat’s principal aim is to coordinate the petroleum policies of its members. While OFID’s Ministerial Council comprises the ministers of finance of its member countries, OPEC’s supreme authority, the Conference, consists of the ministers of energy.

OFID’s priority areas are energy, agriculture, transportation, finance (trade, capital markets, MSME funding), multi-sectoral community-based development, water, sanitation, health, and education.

As of the end of 2013, approximately 76% of OFID’s cumulative public sector support has gone to finance initiatives to resolve the food-water-energy nexus. OFID channelled about $2 billion of its public sector lending in support of water supply and sanitation, agriculture, and rural development.

In June 2012, the Ministerial Council of OFID announced the ‘Ministerial Declaration on Energy Poverty’, stating that OFID would make $1 billion available to bolster its Energy for the Poor Initiative (EPI). OFID thereby aims to confront energy poverty – which it calls the missing “Ninth MDG” – by helping to meet the global goal of universal energy access by 2030. Within this context, OFID focuses on the delivery of innovative, small-scale energy solutions, primarily to off-grid, rural communities, facilitates access to reliable and environmentally-sound power in the South by establishing new, and improving existing utility companies, and by helping countries to tap into their renewable energy sources. For this purpose, OFID also provides direct support to private sector energy poverty reduction projects under its separate Private Sector Facility. Activities include the construction of new facilities and the rehabilitation and upgrade of older inefficient facilities in Jordan, Kenya, Jamaica, and Pakistan.

At the global level, OFID has a €6.5 million equity participation in the Energy Access Fund. The Fund will invest in small enterprises involved in power generation systems (e.g. solar home systems), micro-generation infrastructure (hydro, solar, wind, biomass), “energy kiosks” (electricity generation point with centralised energy consumption by businesses), fleet of batteries, or any other activity linked to expanding access to electricity for rural and sub-urban populations in Africa and developing countries in Asia.

OFID also provides assistance to the education sector, including funding towards the construction, modernisation and expansion of schools, colleges and universities; the provision of technical and vocational training; and strengthening of national education systems. This support is supplemented through OFID’s grant programmes, which assist small-scale, grassroots schemes and knowledge transfer through the sponsorship of conferences and workshops, among many other activities. OFID also runs a scholarship programme for graduate students from developing countries.

Since inception and until November 2014, OFID committed approximately €14 billion; of which €9.3 billion have been disbursed. 132 countries worldwide have benefited from OFID’s financial assistance.

The majority of OFID’s funds are given in the form of loans, directly demanded by developing countries. Only about 5% (approximately €410 million) of OFID’s budget is given in form of grants. Grants were committed for technical assistance (approximately €130 million), a special grant account for Palestine (approximately €90 million), a special programme on HIV/AIDS (approximately €69 million), humanitarian aid, and support for research. Given that OFID has no field staff, it often disburses aid through international and local organisations which are capable of timely and effective implementation on the ground.

Grants amount to roughly €20 to €25 million per year. Per organisation and project, grants vary between €80,000 and €1.6 million. OFID prefers not to fund personnel, but claims to be flexible regarding the calculation of positions to limit overhead costs.

www.ofid.org and www.ofid.org/projectsoperations/grants.aspx